Re-Energize with Customer Renewable Generation

Washington State Production Incentive Program

The Washington State Renewable Energy System Incentive Program is a production-based financial incentive for customers with solar, wind, and bio-digester generating systems. PSE voluntarily administers this state incentive to qualified customers. In order for a customer-generator to participate they must:

  • Be a PSE customer with a valid interconnection agreement with the PSE for the operation of their grid-connected renewable energy system.
  • Have a system that includes production metering capable of measuring the energy output of the renewable energy system.
  • Be certified (as named on the PSE account) by the Washington State Program Administrator as eligible for annual incentive payments.

Annually, PSE will measure and report the kilowatt-hours generated by participants’ renewable energy systems and make incentive payments to eligible customers as determined by the Washington State Program Administrator. Individual participant eligibility for a given rate, term, payment limit, and incentive payment amounts will be determined by the WA State Program Administrator.

Important 2017 update

On July 7, 2017, Governor Inslee signed Senate Bill 5939 into law, making substantial changes to the WA State Renewable Energy Production Incentive Program!

"Legacy Participants" (those certified for the program by Washington State prior to October 1st, 2017) will need to re-apply for state certification through WSU Energy Program by April 30, 2018 in order to receive payments annually 2018-2020. Please visit the State's webpage for information about how to re-apply.

Legacy Participants with valid certifications will continue to receive payments up to $5000 per year for electricity produced through June 30, 2020 at the following rates:

If your certified renewable energy system includes: Your incentive rate will be:
Solar modules and inverter both manufactured in WA 50.4¢
Solar modules manufactured in WA 33.6¢
Solar or wind with an inverter manufactured in WA 16.8¢
Any other PV system or anaerobic digester 14.0¢
Wind turbine 11.2¢

New and prospective participants

Participants with State Certification on or after October 1, 2017, who maintain ongoing eligibility requirements are eligible for up to eight years of annual incentive payments on kilowatt-hours generated July 1, 2017 through no later than June 30, 2029. Individual participant eligibility for a given rate, term, payment limit, and annual incentive payment amounts are determined by the Washington State Program Administrator, based on RCW 82.16, including the following incentive rate guidelines:

Fiscal Year of System Certification Base Rate - Residential
(up to 12 kW)
Base Rate - Commercial
(above 12 kW)
Made in
Washington Bonus
2018 $.16 $.06 $.05
2019 $.14 $.04 $.04
2020 $.12 $.02 $.03
2021 $.10 $.02 $.02
Annual limit per Participant $5000 $25,000
Please visit the State's webpage for information about how to apply for state certification.